Saturday 2 March 2024

IN THE ROOTS OF MUSIC

Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Saturday 2 March 2024

Share This:

Who Knows Where The Time Goes? Fairport Convention Convene for 2024 Winter Tour

Nov 21, 2023

It feels like mere weeks ago that Fairport’s Cropredy Convention brought the cream of Folk, Roots, Rock (and Disco!) to the Oxfordshire countryside, topped off by an epic headline slot by the hosts themselves.

For fans that missed out on the opportunity to witness the full live experience back in August, fear not – as the legendary British folk rockers have announced dates for their Winter 2024 tour, with a very special guest returning to the drummer’s stool…

This year’s customary WinTour sees the chaps in fine form, coming hot off the heels of a more intimate, stripped back acoustic excursion throughout England, Scotland and Wales this past Autumn.

Kicking off in Milton Keynes’ The Stables on Tuesday, February 6th, the nationwide jaunt will take in 30 dates, before winding up in Dudley’s Town Hall on Sunday 10th March.

Stuffing their set with a mix of long-established Fairport favourites, and some surprises from albums old and new, both devoted fans and new converts can expect a show just as electrifying – and just as delightful – as ever.

“They’re a band still in control of their material, and, more importantly, still having fun with it.” The Times, 2023

Winter 2024 will again see celebrated former-drummer Dave Mattacks join the proceedings, having first returned to the stool last year. Mattacks featured as Fairport Convention’s longstanding percussionist throughout most of the 70s, 80s and 90s, and his skills have been in demand ever since, having contributed to numerous studio recordings by the likes of Paul McCartney, Brian Eno, Elton John and Nick Drake.

“Stuffing their set with a surprising amount of new material for a vintage act, Fairport are still clearly having fun, and brought the house down.” The Guardian

Support for the Winter 2024 tour will come from PLUMHALL (Michelle Plum and Nick B. Hall). Using a mesmerising combination of acoustic and electric instruments (with occasional electronica), the duo create a breath-taking soundscape to their powerful original songs.

Their two studio albums ‘Thundercloud’ and ‘The Ghost of Noise’ – earned the duo numerous plaudits, including The ‘Hidden Gem’ Award from The Guardian/Observer. From the alt-country sound of their debut, to the electronica and found sounds of the follow-up, the band have proven that they can fuse classic songwriting with genre-hopping studio experimentation. Their third album is currently in production, and promises to be their strongest yet.

Fairport Convention Winter Tour 2024

Tue, 06th Feb 2024
Milton Keynes
The Stables – TICKETS

Wed, 07th Feb 2024
Southend
Palace Theatre – TICKETS

Thu, 08th Feb 2024
Harpenden
Eric Morecambe Centre – TICKETS

Fri, 09th Feb 2024
Penistone
Paramount – TICKETS

Sat, 10th Feb 2024
Liverpool
Tung Auditorium – TICKETS

Sun, 11th Feb 2024
Manchester
RNCM – TICKETS

Tue, 13th Feb 2024
Bury St Edmunds
The Apex – TICKETS

Wed, 14th Feb 2024
Newcastle under Lyme
New Vic Theatre – TICKETS

Thu, 15th Feb 2024
Oxford
Playhouse – TICKETS

Fri, 16th Feb 2024
Loughborough
Town Hall – TICKETS

Sat, 17th Feb 2024
Farnham
The Maltings – TICKETS

Sun, 18th Feb 2024
Canterbury
Gulbenkian Theatre – TICKETS

Tue, 20th Feb 2024
East Grinstead
Chequer Meade  – TICKETS

Wed, 21st Feb 2024
Worthing
The Connaught – TICKETS

Thu, 22nd Feb 2024
Southampton
Turner Sims – TICKETS

Fri, 23rd Feb 2024
Bath
The Forum – TICKETS

Sat, 24th Feb 2024
Swansea
The Taliesin – TICKETS

Sun, 25th Feb 2024
Exeter
Corn Exchange – TICKETS

Tue, 27th Feb 2024
Lincoln
Drill Hall – TICKETS

Wed, 28th Feb 2024
Stockton
ARC – TICKETS

Thu, 29th Feb 2024
Sunderland
The Fire Station – TICKETS

Fri, 01st March 2024
Harrogate
Harrogate Theatre – TICKETS

Sat, 02nd March 2024
Matlock Bath
The Grand Pavilion – TICKETS

Sun, 03rd March 2024
Stratford
Play House – TICKETS

Tue, 05th March 2024
Wrexham
William Aston Hall – TICKETS

Wed, 06th March 2024
Bridgnorth
Castle Hall – TICKETS

Thu, 07th March 2024
Brecon
Theatre Brycheinog – TICKETS

Fri, 08th March 2024
Tewkesbury
Roses Theatre – TICKETS

Sat, 09th March 2024
London
Union Chapel – TICKETS

Sun, 10th March 2024
Dudley
Town Hall – TICKETS

For further information please visit: www.fairportconvention.com / #OurBusRollsOn

Or check out their social media pages:

Fairport Convention on Facebook
Fairport Convention on Twitter

 

uk festival directory