Thursday 23 May 2024

IN THE ROOTS OF MUSIC

Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Thursday 23 May 2024

Share This:

Ward Knutur Townes Debut Album and Extensive UK Tour

Jun 9, 2023

Ward Knutur Townes found their sound when the world fell silent. In 2020, these three singer-songwriters, (Lucy Ward, Svavar Knutur and Adyn Townes*) were selected to take part in a virtual global music sharing experiment called Global Music Match**. Teamed up together, they spent several lockdowns turning their stories into soft harmonies and intricate melodies. This year, they cashed in their stagnant travel points and recorded their debut album in Iceland. It will be released in October 2023 and accompanied by an extensive UK tour (Dates below)
 
The album is an evocative and seamless blend of these three critically acclaimed artists signature styles; it is heartfelt and powerful, with songs that take in the breadth of the human condition. It is an album that masterfully explores love, mystery, folklore and longing, each track united by having great story telling at its heart. 

 

On stage, the rapport between Ward Knutur Townes is effervescent. Each one of them is skilled in holding an audience alone, so there is an utter magic to watching their joyful, authentic camaraderie unfold. Audiences are welcomed as friends and l eave a WKT show having laughed and cried; feeling truly uplifted by their epic stage presence and, undoubtedly, moved by their music. 
 
*(In no particular order )

Lucy Ward (Derbyshire, UK) is an acclaimed singer-songwriter and powerhouse performer with a unique ability to inhabit the heart of each song she sings. A BBC Radio 2 Folk Award winner, her songs are a mixture of evocative imagery, quiet beauty, passion, protest and tradition all rolled into one. 
 
Svavar Knutur (Iceland) is a gentle but coarse and decadent troubadour. His roots lie in the eastern and northern fjords of Iceland, known for their respective melancholic poetry and rugged gruffness. Knutur is a humorous storyteller and avid diver into the murky waters of the human condition, always seeking a mixture of art, philosophy and entertainment. 

Adyn Townes
(New Brunswick, Canada) is an award-winning alternative folk artist who uses self-deprecating banter and heartfelt lyrics to disarm any audience. A five times International Songwriting Competition finalist, Townes’ unique voice and honest songwriting set the stage for a show that is high energy yet intimate, beautiful yet clever.
 
Tour Dates as follows:

Fri 13 Oct – Déda – Derby
Fri 13 Oct – Live To Your Living Room – online
Sat 14 Oct – Newhampton Arts Centre – Wolverhampton
Sun 15 Oct – Riverhouse Barn Arts Centre – Walton-on-Thames
Tue 17 Oct – Norden Farm Centre for the Arts – Maidenhead
Wed 18 Oct – Green Note – London
Thu 19 Oct – The Greystones – Sheffield
Fri 20 Oct – Manchester Folk Festival
Sat 21 Oct – Chapel Arts – Bath
Sun 22 Oct – Calstock Arts – Calstock
Fri 17 Nov – Downend Folk & Roots – Bristol
Sat 18 Nov – The Silver Street Sessions – Wiveliscombe
Sun 19 Nov – The Tolmen Centre – Falmouth
Tue 21 Nov – Hermon Chapel Arts Centre – Oswestry
Wed 22 Nov – The Witham – Barnard Castle
Thu 23 Nov – Ropery Hall – Barton-upon-Humber
Fri 24 Nov – The Stables – Milton Keynes
Sat 25 Nov – Courthouse – Otley
Sun 26 Nov – Folk at The Froize – Woodbridge

For further information please visit:https://wardknuturtownes.com/
 
 
uk festival directory