Thursday 13 June 2024

IN THE ROOTS OF MUSIC

Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Thursday 13 June 2024

Share This:

Video: Ward Knútur Townes ‘Seasons’

Sep 27, 2023

In Ward Knútur Townes, popular Derbyshire-based performer Lucy Ward returns with this, her first major album in five years, joining forces with Iceland’s mesmerising modern-day troubadour Svavar Knútur and Canada’s Adyn Townes, purveyor of pin-sharp, heartfelt songs.

Here is the video that accompanies the track Seasons from their album Unanswered:

The song imagines American country music icon Johnny Cash singing to June Carter – his five times Grammy-winning second wife and true love. After 35 years of marriage they died within a few months of each other in 2003.

The three musicians were propelled together through the world’s largest musical collaboration Global Music Match – a ground-breaking project which saw 60 artists from 16 countries making music virtually with counterparts. Ward, Knútur and Townes teamed up through COVID lockdowns, melding their songwriting skills and seemingly made-to-be harmonies, literally finding their sound as the world fell silent. Such was their rapport they agreed it shouldn’t end there and decided to pursue a debut album.

Ward Knútur Townes : UK Tour Dates

Friday 13th October – Deda – Derby / Live To Your Living Room – online
Saturday 14th October – Newhampton Arts Centre – Wolverhampton
Sunday 15th October – Riverhouse Barn Arts Centre – Walton-on-Thames
Tuesday 17th October – Norden Farm Centre for the Arts – Maidenhead
Wednesday 18th October – Green Note – London
Thursday 19th October – The Greystones – Sheffield
Friday 20th October – Manchester Folk Festival – Manchester
Saturday 21st October – Chapel Arts – Bath
Sunday 22nd October – Calstock Arts – Calstock
Friday 17th November – Downend Folk & Roots – Bristol
Saturday 18th November – The Silver Street Sessions – Wiveliscombe
Sunday 19th November – The Tolmen Centre – Falmouth
Tuesday 21st November – Hermon Arts – Oswestry
Wednesday 22nd November – The Witham – Barnard Castle
Thursday 23rd November – Ropery Hall – Barton-upon-Humber
Friday 24th November – The Stables – Milton Keynes
Saturday 25th November – Courthouse – Otley
Sunday 26th November – Folk at The Froize – Woodbridge

 

https://wardknuturtownes.com/

uk festival directory