Thursday 13 June 2024


Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Thursday 13 June 2024

Share This:


Jan 31, 2017

The AMA-UK has announced the list of performers for the second annual UK Americana Awards at St John at Hackney on Thursday 2nd February.

Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Richard Thompson and Bob Harris Emerging Artist winner, Wildwood Kin will both perform on the night. Also taking to the stage will be nominees: Mary Chapin Carpenter, who will be In Conversation with Bob Harris at the AmericanaFest conference that day; Awards’ musical director Ethan Johns; Lewis & Leigh, jointly topping the nominations table with three nods; Sam Outlaw, also headlining the Awards Aftershow Party at Oslo with his 80s/90s Country Hits Revue and leading lights of the genre Yola Carter, William The Conqueror, Danni Nicolls and Peter Bruntnell.

The awards show, once again hosted by legendary broadcaster Bob Harris, also coincides with the first anniversary of the Official Americana Albums Chart, which was launched last year by the Official Charts Company in partnership with the AMA-UK and is published each week on To celebrate the occasion, the best-selling UK Americana album of 2016 will be recognised with a special award.

The UK Americana Awards are part of AmericanaFest UK, a two-day event which will also include an evening of showcases on Wednesday 1st February featuring 20 bands playing in various venues around Hackney and daytime conferences on both days. AmericanaFest showcase line- up:


UK Album of the Year
Ghost by Lewis & Leigh (produced by Matt Ingram)
Mockingbird Lane by Danni Nicholls (produced by Chris Donohue)
Nos Da Comrade by Peter Bruntnell (produced by Peter Bruntnell)
Palomino by Treetop Flyers (produced by Treetop Flyers)

International Album of the Year
A Sailor’s Guide To Earth by Sturgill Simpson (produced by Sturgill Simpson)
American Band by Drive-By Truckers (produced by David Barbe)
Angeleno by Sam Outlaw (produced by Ry Cooder and Joachim Cooder)
Midwest Farmer’s Daughter by Margo Price (produced by Alex Munoz and Matt Ross-Spang)

UK Song of the Year
‘Mr Sunshine’ by Peter Bruntnell (written by Peter Bruntnell and Bill Ritchie)
‘Silver Liner’ by Ethan Johns & the Black-Eyed Dogs (written by Ethan Johns)
‘Tend To The Thorns’ by William the Conqueror (written by Ruarri Joseph)
‘The 4:19’ by Lewis & Leigh (written by Al Lewis and Alva Leigh)

International Song of the Year
‘Dust’ by Lucinda Williams (written by Lucinda Williams)
‘Hands of Time’ by Margo Price (written by Margo Price)
‘Somebody Save Me’ by Cale Tyson (written by Cale Tyson)
‘Welcome To Earth (Pollywog)’ by Sturgill Simpson (written by Sturgill Simpson)

UK Artist of the Year
Bear’s Den
Billy Bragg
Lewis & Leigh
Yola Carter

International Artist of the Year
Margo Price
Mary Chapin Carpenter
Richmond Fontaine
Sturgill Simpson

UK Instrumentalist of the Year
CJ Hillman
Dave Little
Henry Senior
Kirk Bowman

Lifetime Achievement Award
Richard Thompson

The Americana Music Association-UK
The AMA-UK is a professional trade association representing and advocating for the voice of American Roots music in the UK. Its membership comprises musicians, both from the UK and overseas, plus professionals from all sectors of the music industry.


[sam id=”4″ codes=”true”]

uk festival directory