Friday 14 June 2024


Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Friday 14 June 2024

Share This:

Topic 80th Anniversary Reissues

Mar 25, 2019

Topic Records are celebrating their 80th birthday in 2019. March heralds in a new series of expanded, deluxe reissues under the Topic Treasures banner, the packed schedule of these releases is:

March 22nd: Martin Simpson’s ‘Prodigal Son’ – Deluxe 2 CD issue of the classic Topic album / Bonus disc of Live tracks / Forward by Martin Simpson –
Format: CD / Digital

March 22nd: Anne Briggs’ eponymous 1971 album, with an exclusive gold vinyl pressing out April 12th.
Format: CD / Vinyl / Digital

March 22nd: Shirley Collins’ ‘The Sweet Primeroses’ – The original LP plus tracks from the Heroes In Love E.P / Photos by Brian Shuel / Deluxe packaging / Original LP artwork.
Format: CD / Digital

April 26th: June Tabor’s ‘Airs & Graces’. Deluxe CD issue of the 1976 classic Topic album / Introduction notes by June / Rare photos and press cuttings / 4 bonus tracks picked by June Tabor.
Format: CD / Digital

May 17th: Dick Gaughan’s classic album Handful of Earth reissued under Topic Treasures. Includes Unseen photographs from the Topic LP photo session / Melody Maker LP of the year 1981 and fRoots album of decade 1989
Format: CD / Digital

Don’t miss..

Amidst all these fantastic reissued albums there will also be a new album from Eliza Carthy and a couple of compilation albums:

May 10th: Eliza Carthy’s new album Restitute will be released on Topic Records – her first ‘solo’ album of traditional music in 14 years.

May 31st – Vision And Revision: The first 80 years of Topic Records: a deluxe double CD of the cream of British folk artists covering a song of their choice from Topic’s vast back catalogue. Includes never-before-released tracks by Martin Simpson, Richard Thompson, Lankum, Peggy Seeger, John Smith, Sam Lee, Martin Carthy, Olivia Chaney, Kitty Macfarlane and many more. Will have finished stock in early March.
Format: CD / Digital / Vinyl –

June 7th: Nic Jones An Introduction To – A new compilation of classic songs. Includes 2 new songs never previously released. Includes a forward by Nic Jones.

uk festival directory