Thursday 18 July 2024


Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Thursday 18 July 2024

Share This:

The Northern Isles Suite – Miguel Giraõ.

Mar 20, 2024

This newly-released nugget of an E.P. is an engaging set of four arrangements for solo guitar by Miguel Giraõ based on Orkney and Shetland tunes. Classical influence is strong right across the suite with compositional structures that range across centuries from Spanish court music to the echoes, harmonies and forms of contemporary guitarists (Renbourn, Fahey, Kottke and Thompson).

Miguel Giraõ clearly loves these islands and there is delicate sensitivity amongst dream-like intervals and fragments of traditional melodies. ‘Da Day Dawn’ opens the work with introspection and the stately peace of a day’s breaking. This leads into ‘‘The Deerness Reel’ an eyes-wide-open inspiration of a joyful day. There is peace in this suite that reflects the quiet grandeur of the places to which each of the four movements pay homage. A beguiling offering to the collective culture of these Northern Isles.

Bob Langstaff.

Spiral Earth rating

uk festival directory