Monday 24 June 2024


Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Monday 24 June 2024

Share This:

Spiral Awards 2013 Winners

Nov 13, 2015

Every year we agonise over nominations, asking a wide range of ‘industry professionals’ (code for old soaks) to give us their considered opinion. But then the danger is it ends up being just like all the other awards out there, and that’s just dull.

So we have grabbed the bull by the horns and made it a much more personal Spiral Earth set of nominations – These are the artists and albums that we have loved the most over the past 12 months…

The winners are…
It was a close run thing in many categories with winners only being decided by a handful of votes in some cases!
BEST ALBUM – Skulk Jim Moray
AMERICANA ALBUM – Camilla Caroline Herring
BLUES ALBUM – Wiley Ways  Hat Fitz & Cara Robinson
TRAD FOLK ALBUM – Northumbrian Voices Kathryn Tickell
INSTRUMENTAL ALBUM – Origins Treacherous Orchestra
DEBUT ALBUM – Vice of the People Albion Band
FEMALE SINGER – Patsy Matheson
MALE SINGER – Ewan McLennan
DUO – Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin
BEST GROUP – Moulettes
ORIGINAL SONG – Because Of You  Nicky Swann
LIVE ACT – The Lock In
SONGWRITER – Nick Burbridge
FESTIVAL – Sark Folk Festival

The nominations were:

Best Album
Skulk -Jim Moray
Static on the Airwaves – Levellers
The Ornate Lie -Kim Edgar
Contraband -Kirsty Mcgee

Best Americana Album
Camillla – Caroline Herring
Young Man in America – Anaïs Mitchell
New York Hummingbird – Dean Owens
A Tear in the Eye Is a Wound in the Heart – Black Prairie

Blues Album
Wiley Ways – Hat Fitz & Cara Robinson
Blood Speaks – Smoke Fairies
Almost Always Never – Joanne Shaw Taylor
And Still I Rise – Heritage Blues Orchestra

Trad Folk Album
Northumbrian Voices – Kathryn Tickell
Orfeo – Fay Hield and the Hurricane Party
The Seas Are Deep – Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker
Another Day Another Story – James Findlay

Instrumental Album
Origins – Treacherous Orchestra
Kaleidophonica – Spiro
Dunrobin Place – Matheu Watson

Debut Album
Vice of the People – Albion Band
In Time – Alister Atkin
The Wild Wild Berry – Stephanie Hladowski & C. Joynes
Blight & Blossom – Blair Dunlop

Female Singer
Patsy Matheson
Cara Robinson
Emily Barker
Stephanie Hladowski

Male Singer
Simone Felice
Ewan McLennan
Sam Carter
Sam Lee

Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin
Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman
Gilmore & Roberts
O’Hooley & Tidow

Emily Barker and the Red Clay Halo
The Unthanks
The Shee

Original Song
Because Of You – Nicky Swann
Cosmonaut – Nick Cave ft. Emmylou Harris
The Ballad Of Andy Jacobs – Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman
Young Man In America – Anais Mitchell

Live Act
The Lock In (Demon Barbers)
Rua MacMillan Trio
Simone Felice

Nick Burbridge
Anais Mitchell
Ewan McLennan
Karine Polwart

Sark Folk Festival
Beautiful Days
Cambridge Folk Festival

uk festival directory