Sunday 23 June 2024


Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Sunday 23 June 2024

Share This:

Sam Sweeney Announces Release of First Entirely Self Composed Record

Sep 11, 2022

Hudson Records have announced the forthcoming release of Sam Sweeney’s, entirely self-composed album Escape That.

Sam is one of England’s finest traditional musicians, however Escape That ties together all of Sam’s musical passions; an honest and fearless expression of himself, combining pop hooks and aesthetics with his pioneering work in the world of traditional dance tunes. Escape That simultaneously presses the reset button on what a folk record should sound like while marking a major stride forward for Sam into the world of composition.

Written without ever touching the violin, Sam retreated to his attic during the lockdowns of 2020-21 and created over twenty pieces of music for Escape That using synths and guitars, using snapshots of people and moments as inspiration in a time of isolation.

He devised a way of writing where he’d lay down a chord sequence and then record an improvisation over the top. On
listening back, anything that could be considered a hook would be kept, everything else was deleted and tracks developed by linking the hooks together to create dance tunes. Once each track was demoed, Sam translated the melodies back to the fiddle.

Escape That is unashamed in its pool of influences. It’s an album laced with visits to old musical companions, culminating in something entirely new; not an uncomfortable fusion of genres but a genuine expression of love for his inspirations, past and present.

The album features Ben Nicholls (Seth Lakeman, Nadine Shah) on electric and double bass, Jack Rutter on acoustic guitar, Louis Campbell on electric guitars and Dave Mackay (Art Garfunkel, Plini) on keyboards and synthesizers. Sam once again worked with Hudson Records producer Andy Bell (Spell Songs, Bellowhead) and the album was recorded in the hills of South Wales, Stroud and Sheffield.

“Escape That is the most ‘me’ music I can imagine making. It ties together my love for traditional dance tunes with my obsession with pop music hooks and textures. Every piece of music we have ever heard leaves a footprint in our minds. With this record I am actively retreading some of these footprints, visiting old musical companions and combining them with my love for traditional dance music. This is emotional music for me and an honest acknowledgment of all the music I have loved since I was a kid. It’s not trying to be anything. It’s as close as I’ve ever got to sharing the sound of the inside of my head.” 

Sam will be performing the music from Escape That, whilst supporting his other band, folk juggernauts Bellowhead, on their sell out 18 date reunion tour in November 2022.

Nominated four times, and winner in 2015, of Musician Of The Year at the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, Sam has been at the forefront of the revival in English music for the last fifteen years. He is a veteran of the mighty Bellowhead, former and inaugural Artistic Director of the National Youth Folk Ensemble, a founder member of ground-breaking trio Leveret as well as a passionate and experienced educator. He has collaborated, recorded and performed with The Full English, Eliza Carthy, Martin Carthy, Jon Boden & The Remnant Kings, Fay Hield and Emily Portman as well as creating his own theatre production Made In The Great War. Sam’s previous releases, The Unfinished Violin (Island Records) and Unearth Repeat (Hudson Records) were received with international acclaim.


November 2022 – Supporting Bellowhead

10 Portsmouth, Guildhall

11 Oxford, New Theatre

12 Leicester, De Montfort Hall

13 Cambridge, Corn Exchange

14 London, Royal Albert Hall

15 Brighton, Dome

16 Southend, Cliffs Pavilion

17 Ipswich, Regent Theatre

18 Bath, The Forum

19 Plymouth, Pavilions

20 Cardiff, St David’s Hall

21 Birmingham, Symphony Hall

22 Newcastle, O2 City Hall

23 Nottingham, Royal Concert Hall

25 Harrogate, Convention Centre

26 Liverpool, Philharmonic

27 Sheffield, City Hall

28 Manchester, Bridgewater Hall

Escape That is available from all digital music platforms, on CD, LP and a limited edition red vinyl LP.


For further information visit :



uk festival directory