Tuesday 25 June 2024

IN THE ROOTS OF MUSIC

Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Tuesday 25 June 2024

Share This:

Gaz Brookfield’s New Album #1 in Official UK Folk Album Charts

Sep 16, 2023

West country based Gaz Brookfield is predominantly a solo acoustic musician. Although, on occasion, you will find him on stage with his band The Company of Thieves.

Since winning Acoustic Magazine’s Singer/songwriter of the year in 2010 he has spent the last decade on the road, building a strong and loyal following all over the UK, and beyond.  This hard working all round nice chap, was the first independent musician to sell out Bristol’s The Fleece (450 cap) and The Bierkeller (750 cap) – and, more recently Bristols’s SWX (1000 cap).

With nine studio albums and seven live ones already under his belt, this fiercely independent musician continues to tour up and down the country without the support of a manager,  record label, or agent. 

Morning Walking Club is west country based Gaz’s 9th studio album. Written, recorded, produced and mixed in his own studio, and mastered by Jim Lang. Additional guitars by Chris Webb and Dan O’dell, keys by Jon Buckett, and violin by Ben Wain.

This album is an open and honest journey into some of the issues surrounding mental health struggles, and ultimately, hopefully, the journey out of them again. It is dedicated to Gaz’s dearly departed dog, Reuben, the founding member of the morning walking club, and the ‘goodest boy’.

Upon  release, Morning Walking Club hit #1 in the Bandcamp Folk charts, #1 in the Official UK Folk Album Charts, #3 in the Official Indie Breaker Charts, #6 in the Official Download Charts, #10 in the Official Indie Album Charts, and #37 in the UK Album Sales Charts.

Gaz says:

You guys did it! To say that I am blown away would be the understatement of the millennia. I can’t begin to thank you all enough for all of the support you’ve given me over the years. Thank you so much for buying this album. I am very excited to celebrate this with you all on the autumn tour!

.. and don’t forget,  all this was achieved without the backing of a manager, an agent, or a label. Just a man with a guitar, a van, and a ‘steadfastly belligerent refusal to give in’.

Good on him.

Don’t take our word for it, he is out  on tour now… dates as follows:

Thursday 5 October Leicester, Musician 
Friday 6 October Sheffield, Greystones 
Saturday 7 October Stourbridge, Katie Fitzgerald’s 
Wednesday 11 October Bridgwater, Cobblestones 
Thursday 12 October Exeter, Cavern 
Friday 13 October Truro, Old Baker Studios 
Saturday 14 October Bideford, Palladium 
Thursday 19 October Leighton Buzzard, Crooked Crowbar
Friday 20 October Guildford, Star 
Saturday 21 October Hove, Brunswick 
Thursday 26 October Manchester, Gullivers 
Friday 27 October Glasgow, Club 45 
Saturday 28 October Newcastle, Head of Steam 
Sunday 29 October York, Fulford Arms 
Thursday 2 November London, Aces and Eights 
Friday 3 November Trowbridge, Pump 
Saturday 4 November Salisbury, Winchester Gate 
Thursday 9 November Bedford, Esquires 
Friday 10 November Colchester, Three Wise Monkeys 
Saturday 11 November Cambridge, Portland Arms 
Friday 17 November Worcester, Marr’s Bar 
Saturday 18 November Cheltenham, Frog and Fiddle 
Thursday 23 November Glastonbury, King Arthur
Friday 24 November Southampton, 1865 
Saturday 25 November Swindon, Hop 
Thursday 30 November Scunthorpe, Café Indie 
Friday 1 December Nottingham, Bodega 
Saturday 2 December Bristol, Fleece

For further details please visit: www.gazbrookfield.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

uk festival directory