Monday 15 July 2024


Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Monday 15 July 2024

Share This:

Boxes Of Treasure: Horslips & Al Stewart Go Totally Deluxe

Mar 27, 2022

You may want to warn your bank manager that the balance on your accounts may fall quite considerably this summer. Why? Well the Spiral Earth News Desk has tidings which are potentially wallet emptying as two folk rock or maybe rock folk brand names have eye watering archive releases planned. The format, already well tested by many rock and prog bands, of the whole back catalogue along with endless live concerts and outakes/alternate versions has thus far largely eluded the roots scene, the niche filled well by the Free Reed long box sets from the likes of Fairport and alumni such as Richard Thompson, but Horslips and Al Stewart are now set to take things to a whole new level.

Firstly already well served by reissues and extras, Horslips celebrate fifty years with the mammoth ‘More Than You Can Chew.’

A 33CD/2DVD Super Deluxe box set celebrating the work of Ireland’s greatest Celtic Rock band.
The ultimate collection of the band’s recorded work, ‘More Than You Can Chew’ contains more than 500 audio tracks and features over 250 previously unreleased pieces and 4.5 Hours of unreleased video. The set has been curated by Bert Jansch/John McLaughlin biographer (and longstanding Horslips fan)Colin Harper in close collaboration with the band members.
The audio, including most of the film audio, has been restored and (re)mastered by IFTA award-winning engineer Cormac O’Kane.
Herculean Horslips biographer Mark Cunningham has written the books in the set with fresh input from the band and, wearing his day-job designer hat, has lovingly designed the set under the oversight of Horslips’ de facto art director Charles O’Connor. ‘More Than You Can Chew’also includes two albums new to any digital medium: ‘Tryal’ (1983) by the Host(a post-Horslips band featuring Eamon, Johnny and Charles) and ‘Breaking Star Codes’ (1983) by Barry Devlin.


33 CDs containing 506 audio tracks 252 of which are previously unreleased
• 2 DVDs containing  two documentaries – 4½ hours of previously unreleased material
• 262 page lavish hardback historical book: ‘On The Record’
• 88 page lyric book
• 5 vintage 8 x 10 photos each signed individually by all five members
• Folder of fan club facsimiles from the 1970s
• Reproduction concert poster – National Stadium, Dublin 1972.
That breaks down to:
* 13 CDs – All the original 1972–80 albums in mini-LP slipcases, in their original form and newly mastered.
* 1 CD – Tracks from the Vaults Vol.2 – All of the single mixes and non-album tracks not included on the original TFTV (1977) compilation plus previously unreleased outtakes.
* 8 CDs – Previously unreleased live and rehearsal recordings 1973–80, including The Last Time – the final concert at the Ulster Hall 8/10/80 in full.
* 3 CDs – Reunion-era albums.
* 3 CD – RTÉ Sessions 1971–12 (almost all previously unreleased.)
* 5 CDs – selected post-Horslips adventures::
1. Barry Devlin ‘Breaking Star Codes’ (1983) – unreleased on CD;
2. The Host Tryal (1983) and non-album single sides (1983–85) – unreleased on CD;
3. Johnny Fean & Eamon Carr Live & Studio 1984-86 – A new self-curated anthology of previously unreleased solo, duo and Host recordings from the period;
4. Jim Lockhart Picking Up The Pieces – a new self-curated anthology of his TV/radio soundtrack music (1980s-00s) – almost all previously unreleased.
5. Charles O’Connor’s ‘Resolution Suite Angel on the Mantelpiece’ (1995).
* DVD1 – ,The RTÉ Vault 1973–79′ – c.160 minutes (50% previously unreleased material)
* DVD2 – ‘The Reunion Era 2004–2019’ – c.160 mins (95% previously unreleased material)
Then… as if 35 items plus books and  reproduction fan ephemera wasn’t enough ‘Admiralty Lights,’ by Al Stewart is even larger and contains just about everything but his passport!  Deep breath….

Al Stewart’s sixty-year career in music has made him one of the most successful folk-rock artists the British Isles have ever produced. ‘The Admiralty Lights’ shines a light on how a skiffle-mad kid from Bournemouth conquered the world.

‘The Admiralty Lights’ is the new career spanning, definitive collection of Al Stewart’s work. Comprising 50 discs, this astounding set follows the legendary singer-songwriter from humble beginnings in 1964, to global stardom in the ‘70’s, through to his most recent recordings in 2009.

The new deluxe box set features Al’s complete original run of 21 studio albums which have been remastered from the original tape transfers, housed in original sleeves & lovingly presented in deluxe LP style jackets. Also included are 18 discs featuring never-before-heard live concert recordings from 1970 to 2009, 3 discs of rare BBC Sessions from 1965 – 1972 & 8 discs of Demos, Outtakes & Rarities, offering a rare inside look into Mr Stewart’s world.

A beautiful 160-page hardback coffee table book is at the centre of this spectacular package, featuring comprehensive liner notes from author & Al Stewart expert Neville Judd & previously unseen photographs, flyers & ephemera from across his illustrious career. Vigilant fans will recognise the masterful touch of Colin Elgie, who has provided a visually striking original illustration for the outer box cover, having previously collaborated with Al on his ‘Year of The Cat’ album.

Rounding off this smorgasbord of Al Stewart delights is a ‘Year of the Cat’ print, individually signed by Colin Elgie, three posters including one specially designed by Colin Elgie & a 24-page Collectors’ Book, detailing all of the rare recordings in the set.

This is what you get for your hard earned pounds.

21 Discs of newly remastered studio product.

• 18 Discs of live/in concert recordings.

• 3 Discs of BBC sessions 1965 – 1972.

• 8 Discs of demoes /outtakes and rare tracks. .

• 160 page book all about Al with photos and interviews. Coffee table printing.

• 24 page book with notes about the rare material.

‘Year Of The Cat,’ print signed by Colin Elgie, plus a whole host of posters for various records.

Phew…..! Your ears are going to be busy this summer. Both sets are now available to pre-order check out and

uk festival directory