Thursday 30 May 2024


Newsletter SIGNUP

spiral earth
Thursday 30 May 2024

Share This:

Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist 2015

Apr 18, 2015

The UK’s only annual book award for fiction written by a woman – The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction – has announced the 2015 shortlist. The selection includes five previously shortlisted authors and one debut novelist.

The 2015 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist is:

Rachel Cusk – Outline

Laline Paull – The Bees

Kamila Shamsie – A God in Every Stone

Ali Smith – How To Be Both

Anne Tyler – A Spool of Blue Thread

Sarah Waters – The Paying Guests

The judges for the 2015 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction are:

Shami Chakrabarti, (Chair), Director, Liberty

Laura Bates, writer and Founder of The Everyday Sexism Project

Grace Dent, Columnist and Broadcaster

Helen Dunmore, Novelist, Poet and Winner of the Inaugural Orange Prize for Fiction (1996)

Cathy Newman, Presenter, Channel 4 News

“You’ve heard of fantasy football? Well, short-listing for the 2015 Baileys Prize was the fantasy book club of a lifetime,” said Shami Chakrabarti, Chair of judges. “My fellow judges represent the best of British journalism, comment, literature and activism and our deliberations were heart-rendingly difficult but always as warm and collaborative as they were robust.”

She added, “The novels we shared and the shortlist we ultimately honour form a body of great women’s writing to entertain and inspire for many years to come.”

It’s worth checking out the long list of nominees

uk festival directory